110898820486764454

“When the going gets weird, the weird turn pro” : Hunter S.Thompson

Damn shame to hear that Hunter S. Thompson has apparently committed suicide. We’d recently watched Fear & Loathing, since Jo got round to reading the book. I’d been thinking that I’d really like to hear him ramble on about stuff, on a podcast. Now, I guess we won’t. Unless he’s pre-recorded a bunch of messages, of course. Hmm.. Who knows, maybe he knows something about GW *hinting* that he’d smoked Marijuana. GWB attended a Superbowl party thrown by HST back in his ‘cocaine days’.
Check out out this little biog.

When asked decades later if he remembered whether Bush had used any drugs at his party, Thompson replied:

“I can’t be expected to remember what every drug-addled yuppie hanger-oner who wanted to get close to me during a football game twenty-five years ago digested. There were so many dope fiends milling about, I don’t remember what some Yalie named Bush, whose father was a factotum in the Nixon Administration, was doing. But he strikes me as the sort of person I would have thrown out of the room. A rich, beer-drunk yahoo with a big allowance who passes out in your bathtub. … I don’t want to become the Deep Drug Throat. … I won’t do it.”

coverHowever, I just found this interview with him on Australian radio. You can click the mp3 link and download there.
Very interesting. Not about Bush and Mary jane, but about Bush and the impending war, the White House and news media, etc. Recorded nearly a year after 911.

I think I might have to go and buy his book Kingdom of Fear.

I like that sort of thing ;)

0 Responses to “110898820486764454”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Who is this ‘kosso’ anyway?

I am a 'Createc'. A creative technologist, entrepreneur/ hacker/ geek. Worked on building things on the web for over 12 years.

Used to work at BBC News interactive and created the publishing and delivery systems for video news to get distributed on huge screens in major railway stations around the country.

I left the BBC to become CTO / sole-lead architect/developer at podcast.com for three years.

I have now left them to build a start up a new system called 'Phreadz', which is a 'Social Multimedia Conversation Network', integrating everything that is 'V.I.T.A.L' to us on the web. Video, Images, Text, Audio and Links.

I built the whole thing my myself. I programmed every line of code and positioned every pixel. I'm looking forward to attracting an hiring new members of the team to help me out! :)

There are currently over 1000 happy and helpful beta testers on the system so far and one client of a white-labelled solution.



@kosso : twitter

kosso's flickr stream

Bristol Panoramic

Printed Paint-pot Angel

Mobile Lovers

Paint Pot Angel

The Punishment Book

School Days

School Days

School Days

School Days

School Days

More Photos
February 2005
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

stats

  • 247,536

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

