108424549922447222

God, I love the internet. I was just browsing through various recently updated blogs on the new blogger site, and came across this entry titled ‘Building a Freevo box’. Hmmm.. I thought. This led me onto a site about XMLTV. Ooo.. Looks interesting. From here I find some instructions on how to get the UK TV listings. Out of this lot I was able to put together a url which, when hit, will download a zip file containing my chosen TV channel listings, on the days I want in either XMLTV format [a big single file with all the info] or bleb format [zip fle contains folders with each day and channel in seperate files – nice simple XML structure – good for mobiles and keeping memory down]. Download them and have a look.

Using Flash Studio Pro (which I KEEP going on about) or even just Flash for a Pocket PC, this makes it dead easy to knock together a little Pocket EPG.

Damn. I fear more sleepless nights. Ever since upgrading the WiFi in the flat, I’m seeing just how much I can do with my iPaq 5450 and it’s built in WiFi. Especially with Flash. I found a neat application that does standalone Pocket PC applications here. I’ve already started building an RSS newsreader to try for work. Watch this [pocket/cyber]space.

Here’s the URL for the multiple-bleb format in a zip file [could easily write PHP to process all this on the server]:


http://bleb.org/tv/data/listings?days=0,1,2,3&format=bleb&file=zip&channels=bbc1,bbc2,bbc_radio1,bbc_radio4,bbc3,bbc4

Also, here are the files on their server:

http://bleb.org/tv/data/listings/

Blimey! Is that the time!

I wonder what’s on the telly?

1 Response to “108424549922447222”


  1. 1 kosso May 11, 2004 at 11:24 am

    This post has been removed by the author.


Leave a Reply

Who is this ‘kosso’ anyway?

I am a 'Createc'. A creative technologist, entrepreneur/ hacker/ geek. Worked on building things on the web for over 12 years.

Used to work at BBC News interactive and created the publishing and delivery systems for video news to get distributed on huge screens in major railway stations around the country.

I left the BBC to become CTO / sole-lead architect/developer at podcast.com for three years.

I have now left them to build a start up a new system called 'Phreadz', which is a 'Social Multimedia Conversation Network', integrating everything that is 'V.I.T.A.L' to us on the web. Video, Images, Text, Audio and Links.

I built the whole thing my myself. I programmed every line of code and positioned every pixel. I'm looking forward to attracting an hiring new members of the team to help me out! :)

There are currently over 1000 happy and helpful beta testers on the system so far and one client of a white-labelled solution.



@kosso : twitter

kosso's flickr stream

May 2004
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

stats

  • 254,070

