Second Life Profiles via the Web (tab)

UPDATE 2: Web tabs on hold until later release

UPDATE: From Linden Lab : “We are planning to release Second Life 1.12.3 on Wednesday, 25 October 2006. The grid will be closed from 7:00 AM PDT/SLT to 12:00 PM PDT/SLT, and you will need to upgrade to the newest version to login afterwards. “

This WILL include the Web tab on profiles!

Soon, on Second Life, you will be able to view small web pages in a small browser window on people’s profiles. This is what blogHUD users will be able to put on theirs once this cool feature is released from the Preview Grid. (this is a work in progress)

You’ll have to hop over to my OPML Blog to view it, as I can’t post an iframe here…

BlogHUD users will also be able to customise the feeds and image slideshows (see the small snapzilla link). Existing blogHUD users can try going to http://my.bloghud.com/yoursecondlifename/profile

Bring on the MASH!! (http://my.bloghud.com/kozfarina/profile/

Javascript and Ajax seem well supported in this small embedded Mozilla browser window. Flash too – but with no buttons! :( Also, secondlife:// urls for instant teleportation are not active yet. I hope they fix that.

4 Responses to “Second Life Profiles via the Web (tab)”


  1. 1 mrlk October 22, 2006 at 5:25 pm

    although http://my.bloghud.com/mrlkperry works – blahblah/profile/ doesnt – i get “this blogHUD user does not exist”

  2. 2 Koz Farina October 22, 2006 at 11:31 pm

    then youve never logged in to the site and set your profile.. have you? ;p

  3. 3 ade October 24, 2006 at 11:54 am

    aaah i seee ;)

  4. 4 Seattle March 7, 2007 at 5:04 am

    Man, what a well set-up website!


Comments are currently closed.



Who is this ‘kosso’ anyway?

I am a 'Createc'. A creative technologist, entrepreneur/ hacker/ geek. Worked on building things on the web for over 12 years.

Used to work at BBC News interactive and created the publishing and delivery systems for video news to get distributed on huge screens in major railway stations around the country.

I left the BBC to become CTO / sole-lead architect/developer at podcast.com for three years.

I have now left them to build a start up a new system called 'Phreadz', which is a 'Social Multimedia Conversation Network', integrating everything that is 'V.I.T.A.L' to us on the web. Video, Images, Text, Audio and Links.

I built the whole thing my myself. I programmed every line of code and positioned every pixel. I'm looking forward to attracting an hiring new members of the team to help me out! :)

There are currently over 1000 happy and helpful beta testers on the system so far and one client of a white-labelled solution.



@kosso : twitter

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

kosso's flickr stream

Bristol Panoramic

Printed Paint-pot Angel

Mobile Lovers

Paint Pot Angel

The Punishment Book

School Days

School Days

School Days

School Days

School Days

More Photos
October 2006
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

stats

  • 246,652

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

