A Question Of Tagging

OK. So I have recently built a new tagging system for podcast.com (which is inches away from a big overhaul) and a few other sites I build, and I wanted to ask you a question:

Which would be the preferable ‘delimeter’ to post multiple tags?

Spaces (with quotes to enclose multiple words)? Eg: cat furry “my pet” “eats mice” – As seen in flickr

or

Commas : Eg: cat, furry, my pet, eats mice  – As seen in WordPress?

I personally think commas is easier, but how about you?

3 Responses to “A Question Of Tagging”


  1. 1 JohnHarnett January 31, 2007 at 9:38 am

    spaces,for,me,please,commas,are,more,work,plus,delicious,uses,spaces,and,they ,are,the,granddaddy,of,tagging,in,my,mind,.,.,.,.,.,.,.

  2. 2 Kosso January 31, 2007 at 9:59 am

    HI there John! You think? The problem I see with spaces – AND using “quotes for multiple words” can be a pain, and people forget to use them (the quotes) quite often leading to many unintended tags.

    Commas are not more work, in fact less, as you simply use once to delimit one word or more than one word.

    city, USA, New York

    not

    city USA “New York”

    hmmmm jury’s still out

  3. 3 JohnHarnett January 31, 2007 at 5:01 pm

    Heh Kosso, I agree, there’s always trouble in my mind when it comes to how to describe something with more than one word. But then I think that a side effect of tagging is to encourage one-word descriptions over phrases. Similiarly, when one is searching for a particular tag, doesn’t one usually search based on one word?

    Just for devils advocate, how about allowing both! or making it a user setting?

    Cheers


Leave a Reply

Who is this ‘kosso’ anyway?

I am a 'Createc'. A creative technologist, entrepreneur/ hacker/ geek. Worked on building things on the web for over 12 years.

Used to work at BBC News interactive and created the publishing and delivery systems for video news to get distributed on huge screens in major railway stations around the country.

I left the BBC to become CTO / sole-lead architect/developer at podcast.com for three years.

I have now left them to build a start up a new system called 'Phreadz', which is a 'Social Multimedia Conversation Network', integrating everything that is 'V.I.T.A.L' to us on the web. Video, Images, Text, Audio and Links.

I built the whole thing my myself. I programmed every line of code and positioned every pixel. I'm looking forward to attracting an hiring new members of the team to help me out! :)

There are currently over 1000 happy and helpful beta testers on the system so far and one client of a white-labelled solution.



@kosso : twitter

  • Good game. Good game. 40 minutes ago
  • Just invented an amazing device with "selfie-mode" for so-called "selfie enthusiasts" and no data usage I call it.. *drumroll*.. "a mirror" 2 hours ago
  • Sorted... Freak King Nun Sløtface @DreamWifeMusic ... https://t.co/p9Mz5NbEnK 2 hours ago
  • I recently planted some lettuce and tomato seeds. The lettuce has started to sprout but the tomatoes need some time to ketchup. 1 day ago
  • Slow clap for UK news outlets today, for perpetuating gender inequality by the annual 'boys vs girls' exam results. Who cares? ffs 1 day ago

kosso's flickr stream

January 2007
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

stats

  • 253,870

Top Clicks

  • None

