Twitter Borkage. “Something is Technically Wrong”.

For the past couple of days, I’ve not been alone in noticing that my Twitter timeline has been acting strangely. Where are all the Tweets from the people I follow? Has everyone stopped Tweeting? Hmmm… Apparently not. CNET have also weighed in on the issue. [Matthew Ingram also points out the irony of the situation – and Jeff Nolan points out that the Web2.0 conference is due to start in San Francisco in 2 days – they’d better fix this soon, or the darlings of SXSW07 will have a plate of egg on their faces, no doubt!]

For some reason, Tweets from people I follow just don’t appear any more. I know they’re posting – my fiancee (who I met via Twitter), sat next to me has posted recently, as I can see when I visit her page, but they don’t appear on my friends timeline.

I have been increasingly using Twitter to stay connected to loads of people who I know personally and virtually. It’s like a lifeline to the world, which I have come to rely on.

But now I feel completely disconnected and in the dark.

Now sure, sites have problems now and then, but the worst thing about this situation is that the people from Twitter have not acknowledged the problem on their blog, or on their ‘Twitter Status‘ stream. [Maybe they have and I just can’t see the updates.] – update : ok, there is a day old post about the issue now.

After reading another post on this subject, I see that someone from the company has posted the reason for the outage on some ‘get satisfaction’ forum which I’ve never heard of. Something to do with the caching system apparently.

Twitter is a communication platform – so come on Twitter!! COMMUNICATE WITH US!

A quick look at all the Twitter streams of the Twitter staff shows that they’re all busy partying in one way of another. Grrrr.

There appears to be a way to ‘fix’ the problem – someone has even written a web app to automate the process – by unfollowing an refollowing people to make their Tweets reappear on your timeline. This seemed to work for a while, but then Tweets just vanish again. Very annoying. Also, this method would resend the email alerts to the people you’re ‘fixing’ which is also annoying and confusing.
So, what do we do? Wait? Hope? Wonder? There are a few million of us in the same boat here. What shall we do? Jump ship and try Jaiku or Pownce?

2 Responses to “Twitter Borkage. “Something is Technically Wrong”.”


  1. 1 Riaz Kanani April 21, 2008 at 4:31 pm

    yeh i have exactly the same problem 😦 I’d switch to pownce which is much nicer but it would need everyone to switch – wishful thinking 😦

  2. 2 Classy Mommy April 24, 2008 at 3:07 pm

    Sounds like I am not alone. Thanks for posting on this. My twitter problem sounds even more severe…. I can not access my home page and it appears no one else can now access my profile or view my tweets etc. So basically I can no longer twitter at all. This is in either Safari or IE and I’ve refreshed all my cookies, my password is correct etc. Do I start a new account to just start over? Or will they fix this! If anyone has advice, please help! I know there must be other with these issues too.


Leave a Reply

Who is this ‘kosso’ anyway?

I am a 'Createc'. A creative technologist, entrepreneur/ hacker/ geek. Worked on building things on the web for over 12 years.

Used to work at BBC News interactive and created the publishing and delivery systems for video news to get distributed on huge screens in major railway stations around the country.

I left the BBC to become CTO / sole-lead architect/developer at podcast.com for three years.

I have now left them to build a start up a new system called 'Phreadz', which is a 'Social Multimedia Conversation Network', integrating everything that is 'V.I.T.A.L' to us on the web. Video, Images, Text, Audio and Links.

I built the whole thing my myself. I programmed every line of code and positioned every pixel. I'm looking forward to attracting an hiring new members of the team to help me out! :)

There are currently over 1000 happy and helpful beta testers on the system so far and one client of a white-labelled solution.



@kosso : twitter

kosso's flickr stream

IMG_5559

Bristol Panoramic

Printed Paint-pot Angel

Mobile Lovers

Paint Pot Angel

The Punishment Book

School Days

School Days

School Days

School Days

More Photos
April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

stats

  • 253,720

Top Clicks

  • None

