OMG! I won! PHREADZ FTW!!

Wow! Thank you TechCrunch!!! I’m blown away by the positive stuff I have had since pitching PHREADZ for your competition to win a ticket to the Being:Digital conference. And also from your great post about it. Such exciting times ahead I hope! Thank You! Thank You!

Vodpod videos no longer available.

[note to self: fix autoplay on the embeddable widget! 🙂 ]

PS: Apologies if the video are slow to load – especially if you’re viewing from outside the UK (where the server is) The site is getting an unnatural amount of web traffic right now! :))

PPS: Obviously if I can get Phreadz to ‘make’ some money, it will be spent on more servers and bandwidth for the system. I got all I could afford to build it to the state it’s in now.

the data centre where the server is hosted appears to be having some routing problems just now. they’re on the case. It’s affecting all their customers and visitors from certain countries.

13 Responses to “OMG! I won! PHREADZ FTW!!”


  1. 1 Chris Dalby May 27, 2008 at 4:40 pm

    Hey Kosso, nice one! A deserved win and best of luck to Phreadz at Being Digital.

  2. 2 Steve Lawson May 27, 2008 at 4:43 pm

    very very cool indeed, sir! Congrats, and much deserved 🙂

  3. 3 mrlk May 27, 2008 at 4:45 pm

    nice one jon 🙂

  4. 4 Steve Purkiss May 27, 2008 at 4:56 pm

    Congrats Kosso! GO PHREADZ!!!

  5. 5 fiz May 27, 2008 at 5:29 pm

    That’s my man!! <33

  6. 6 TedC May 27, 2008 at 5:30 pm

    Hey Kosso, I knew you were smart…

  7. 7 Adam 'cafn8ed' Jochum May 27, 2008 at 5:43 pm

    cool beans, dude! wtg! keep up the good work!

  8. 8 Bob Stewart May 27, 2008 at 5:49 pm

    Congrats Kosso! Here’s a lil blast from the past, Phreadz 5 months ago in and I quote “pre pre pre pre pre alpha” napkin and all! http://seesmic.com/v/dzyDrKCvI0

  9. 9 Annie May 27, 2008 at 5:55 pm

    Congrats! So great to see all the hard work, passion, hard work, dedication, and hard work start to pay off!

  10. 10 Otir June 2, 2008 at 1:50 pm

    Oh, now I understand better why I can’t watch videos from Phreadz on my favorite blogs.

    Well I guess I should be graceful and congratulate you on this success and not feel frustrated instead because I can’t even email you (being told by the daemon that I am an awful virus, who would have guessed).

    Very happy for you, and hope the best outcome and long life to Phreadz. Take care (you got my email there if you can trust me not to be a virus).

  11. 11 Seamus June 6, 2008 at 9:57 pm

    I know there’s VC hate in web 2.0, but can’t anyone out there give this project some funding?

  12. 12 kosso June 6, 2008 at 10:50 pm

    ha! Thanks Seamus! 🙂 And I totally agree! 🙂

    but this is ‘web3.0’ baby! 🙂 – semantic multimedia goodness

    It’s all in the PHREADZ 🙂


Leave a Reply

Who is this ‘kosso’ anyway?

I am a 'Createc'. A creative technologist, entrepreneur/ hacker/ geek. Worked on building things on the web for over 12 years.

Used to work at BBC News interactive and created the publishing and delivery systems for video news to get distributed on huge screens in major railway stations around the country.

I left the BBC to become CTO / sole-lead architect/developer at podcast.com for three years.

I have now left them to build a start up a new system called 'Phreadz', which is a 'Social Multimedia Conversation Network', integrating everything that is 'V.I.T.A.L' to us on the web. Video, Images, Text, Audio and Links.

I built the whole thing my myself. I programmed every line of code and positioned every pixel. I'm looking forward to attracting an hiring new members of the team to help me out! :)

There are currently over 1000 happy and helpful beta testers on the system so far and one client of a white-labelled solution.



@kosso : twitter

kosso's flickr stream

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

stats

  • 253,798

Top Clicks

  • None

